Blog Tour: The Summer I Fell {Review & Giveaway}


Hello there, lovelies and welcome to Rhea’s Neon Journal! Summer is here and Sonya Loveday’s The Summer I Fell is the perfect summer read–with swoons and summer flings…and maybe even summer love 🙂 Have fun!


The Summer I Fell by Sonya Loveday
Series: The Six #1
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary
Date of Publishing: July 27th, 2014
 My Rating: ★★★

“So you wanna be part of the Six, huh? You wish…”
~Jared, Ace, Mark, Josh, Aiden & Eli

Riley Clifton can’t remember a time when she wasn’t a part of the Six, a group of rowdy boys who would do just about anything for her. Growing up alongside of six guys is never easy. Especially in high school. Falling in love with one of the Six? Even harder when Ace has a hold of her heart, and he doesn’t even know it.

Jake (Ace) Aceton has loved Riley for a long time, but has kept the secret oath of the Six. Riley was off limits. At least until after graduation. When he overhears Riley admitting to her best friend, Paige how she feels about him, Ace doesn’t let his chance slip by. Riley, in his mind, has always been his.

When her college plan falls through, and her future is left to the hands of fate, Riley finds herself scrambling to keep up with all the changes. But that’s not the hardest part. The hardest part is saying good-bye, especially to Ace.

Heartache, hard lessons, and a love deeper than her Alabama roots will threaten to crumble Riley’s world as she waits for Ace’s return.

Will Riley and Ace’s love be strong enough to hold them together when life tries to tear them apart?



“They had lots of codes they stuck by, but never talked about. And I had a feeling one of those codes had something to do with me.”

The Summer I fell begins with Riley Clifton who introduces the readers to the Sexy Six-Jared, Ace, Eli, Mark, Josh and Aiden. The Six, as they are affectionately called, are a group of rowdy high school seniors who never really grew up. They stick by each other—always have—and they’ve forever kept Riley at the centre of them all, silently calling her the seventh Six.

But not all of them harbour brotherly feelings towards her, and especially not Jake Aceton.

While I felt like the book kind of started all of a sudden with little to no premise or background, I found myself immersed in the story completely. Riley is a likeable character, a bit too insecure, but that’s only because she feels like these larger-than-life boys couldn’t possibly love her as much as loved them. Same with Jake (Ace), who as it turns out was totally in love with her too!

The book actually begins with their graduation party and describes how all the Six are going to split and move away from Alabama, to pursue their careers. This leaves Riley melancholy, and the Six decide to celebrate the weekend at a cabin they own.

I throughly enjoyed the antics of the Six! Riley noted more than once that these boys had grown up only in age and that was so true. They were the kind of friends a girl would be lucky to have. However, they are boys and sometimes, boys keep secrets ;P

I found Riley to be a little too melodramatic for my tastes. She was in the constant habit of blowing things wildly out of proportion and that definitely irritated me, a lot. That being said, I saw some definite growing up from the book’s beginning to its end. She changed and grew up as a person. Some events in the book were so sad, I found myself sympathising with this dramatic female. The book ends on a cliffhanger (so be prepared for some epic hair-pulling) but if you’re looking for a cute, small summer read, then I’d faintly recommend this to you, inspite of the gigantic cliffy 🙂



  2. Contest open until April 23rd, 2015.
  3. Please do not try to game the system. Cheaters never prosper.

Up for Grabs!

  • $25 Amazon Gift Card
  • 6x ebook copies of The Summer I Fell
  • 3x button swag packs

Enter Here


Sonya Loveday, first and foremost is a reader, an avid one. It is of that love that brought her to

purchasing her first laptop in 2009, and publishing her first novel, Casted, in 2013.

In early 2014, Sonya expanded Casted and then went on to publish Spelled, the sequel to Casted, in March, wrapping up the series, and her stint with Paranormal Romance. For now.

Not long after the completion to the Casted Series, Sonya tried her hand at New Adult/Coming of Age, a sub-genre of Contemporary Romance. Thusly, the Six were born with The Summer I Fell, which released at the end of July 2014. The demand from readers was instantaniously, which brought about End Note, the second book of the series in December 2014.

To date, Sonya lives in Central Florida with her husband, and two kids, and is currently working on her fifth book set to release later this spring 2015.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads |



I was provided a free eARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. This did not in any way, however, influence the content of this review.
Blog Tour hosted by:



7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Summer I Fell {Review & Giveaway}

  1. Giselle says:

    This sounds like a sweet and light read! I like how much character growth it seems to have, too, that’s so important in this genre! Great review, Rhea! 🙂


  2. victoria says:

    Sounds like a great book but I’m not a fan of cliffhangers … I’ll give it a try though, the story sounds entertaining :). Thanks for sharing your review!


  3. Lola @ Hit or Miss Books says:

    Aaaah, character development, what would we become without it? We would be quite miserable and I’d DNF more often, haha! Ugh, though, melodramatic characters are annoying, except if they’re so in a funny way. Great review!


What say you, mortal?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s