Blog Tour: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom {Review & Giveaway}

DEC

Hello and welcome to Rhea’s Neon Journal! Don’t Ever Change was completely not what I expected and yet I had A LOT of fun reading this book 🙂  Have fun with the giveaway (it’s INTERNATIONAL) and follow the rest of the tour here!

9780062036889_849f7


Don’t Ever Change
 by M. Beth Bloom
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Date of Publishing: July 7th, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
 My Rating: ★

 

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can’t “write what she knows” because she hasn’t yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

 Soon Eva’s life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they’ve even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer’s blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

 Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don’t Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.

Review

How do you know that you’ve read the perfect book for you? Do you see yourself in the characters of the book? Does the story appeal to you in ways you’d have never expected it to? Or does the book have to be an eye-opener? Something that you know you need to change in your life and the book shows you exactly how you may be affecting others?

Perhaps all of the above?

Don’t Ever Change was all of these to me…and so much more.

Eva isn’t the most easiest character to like. She’s judgemental and rude, and has a little problem with pride. It’s always her way or the highway and certain things she said in the book came of as ignorant and childish—contrary to the seventeen-year old she was. I’d be lying if I said I liked her—I can hardly tolerate people like Eva in real life, let alone in fiction where I have the choice to stop reading and forget about them forever. But here’s the thing about this book: While I didn’t particularly like our main protagonist, I did however fall deep in love with her story. Eva’s story was a true coming-of-age story, where Eva learns to let go of her rigid ways and closed mind and basically, grow up.

The main plot of the book revolves around Eva’s inability to deal with criticism from Mr Roush, her teacher, who tells her to write what she knows about, rather than going above and beyond to write something she has no idea about. He tells her, albeit in fewer words, to try to experience the world before she writes about it. But Eva, being Eva, takes his advice quite literally and that’s where she decides that the summer after high school is when she’s going to find out what she knows. To do this, she takes up a job as Camp Counsellor at a summer camp she doesn’t really care about and works with children she can’t quite bring herself to care about.

But, of course, many of her plans derail—as plans usually tend to—and Eva finds herself questioning a lot of things, including her way of dealing with her writing, people around her and most importantly, what she knows. As summer progresses, and a new adventure (if college can really be called an adventure) looms ahead, Eva changes radically from the person we see in the beginning of the novel. For the better or for the worse is really for the reader to decide.

Keeping aside my dislike for most things Eva, I have to state in good conscience that I did kind of enjoy her witty, internal rambling. Her attitude was appalling and she was mostly unpleasant but it was strangely entertaining. Maybe I’m a bad person for enjoying her monologues as she judged people left, right and centre, but something about the way her rather scintillating personality shone through her every action and thought made me want to smile. And I did. Smile, a lot. Eva wasn’t real and that knowledge was my biggest ally, but somehow my dislike for this girl and her callous way of treating members of her own species made me smile.

Funny? Very. But I’d credit all of this to the author’s writing. The book is written in a sharp, clear way and gets its point across clearly. After having read the book, and taken my time to introspect and really think about Eva and her friends, I’d say this book was both enjoyable and necessary, and though not without its drawbacks, it was definitely a book I’ll be recommending!

Giveaway

  1. Open INTERNATIONALLY
  2. Contest open only until July 19, 2015
  3. Please do not try to game the system. Cheaters never prosper.

Up for Grabs!

  • Win a hardback copy of DON’T EVER CHANGE by M. Beth Bloom

giveaway

Enter Here

9780062036889_1_3a7ad

M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers’s Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.

Facebook | TwitterGoodreads | 

I was provided a free eARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. This did not in any way, however, influence the content of this review.
Blog Tour hosted by:

ffbc

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Don’t Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom {Review & Giveaway}

    • Rhea says:

      Hey there, Heather! Don’t Ever Change is a completely life-changing read…if only you give it a chance 🙂 The cover is so unique, don’t you think? Completely unexpected for a YA, which is the land of sparkles and silhouettes! Have fun reading 🙂

      Like

What say you, mortal?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s