Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace {Review & Giveaway}

SHALLOW GRAVES COVER

Title: Shallow Graves
Author : Kali Wallace
Genre : Young Adult, Paranormal
Publication Date : January 26th, 2016
Publisher : Katherine Tegen Books
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo 

black4

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

blackdots

“The first time I killed a man it was an accident.”

That was it. THIS was the moment I knew I’d love this book. The first line, the very first sentence of the book, and it was already an above average read for me. Shallow Graves is without a doubt the most unique book I have read in YA; not by its subject matter—although that is pretty new too—but by its genre. It’s YA Contemporary, but it’s also YA Fantasy and YA Mystery. The actual book covers a lot of fantasy elements, but there are more thrills and chills than you’d expect and because our main character is an adorable cinnamon roll who doesn’t know what she is, the book is also pretty much a big fat mystery. As you may have read in the synopsis, one day Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave, absolutely terrified. But here’s the thing—she wakes up a year after her death. But that’s not even the most interesting thing about the book. After “waking up,” Breezy realises that she can sense murderers among people. And she can make them pay.

Almost the first thing I noticed—and held on to—in the book was how much I loved Breezy, our MC. This girl was…honestly, she was something else all together. She was driven and smart after her “waking up,” but as you get to know her through the way she thought and her memories and her dreams in life, you realise that there so much more to this girl than just her unnatural state of being. For Breezy, the last thing she remembers is being human, being alive, having a family, two sisters…and now she knows she can’t go back to that life, and essentially, she has nothing. I was quite surprised by how sympathetic her entire situation made me feel towards her, and that too quite early on in the book. But hindsight is 20-20 and I’m pretty sure I would have loved this girl no matter what situation she was placed in.

The Shallow Graves universe has trippy rules, and that was part of the fun. There were a lot of characters that we meet along Breezy’s journey towards discovering the truth about herself—both human, and not-quite so. These people were also super creepy, by the way, which make this so much better! I found myself absolutely fascinated by some of them and here’s me, officially declaring that I’d love to see loads of spin-offs based on these people, because goddamn they were Just. That. Good. Especially Jake and Zeke. The book has quite an open ending so MAYBE we’ll get to see more Breezy…?

One other thing I’d like to talk about is how frigging amazingly Kali Wallace made me think and rage and think some more. With the circumstances surrounding Breezy’s death, the reader is introduced to a whole new read-between-the-lines situation. Shallow Graves deals with rape culture, and forcibly imposing ideology, and brings out a strong feminist character who is ready to be seen neither as a victim nor accept pity. And I loved to see that, because it is absolutely what I needed to read.

Kali Wallace’s debut is absolutely out-of-the-world and mind blowing. 2016 seems to be the year of amazing authors with their even more amazing books and dare I say, Shallow Graves ranks high up at the top! The writing is addictive and thrilling, and I’m sure most people who read it completely and going to frigging love it! I’ll just be here, waiting for more books in the series.

blackdots

giveaway

 

Giveaway Rules:

  • Open to US ONLY.
  • Must be 13 or older to enter
  • Giveaway starts January 18th until February 1st.
  • All entries are double-checked and false entries will be disqualified
  • Winner will be notified via email and needs to answer in 48 hours letting us know if he/she accepts the prize and send us his/her full name and address.
  • Your personal information won’t be used or be seen unless you’re the winner of the giveaway. We won’t sell it nor use it in a bad way.
  • Tour Hosts are not responsible for any lost or stolen items.
  • One person cannot win more than one prize in a same giveaway. See our Tour Guidelines in our website for more information.

ENTER HERE

blackdots

Kali Wallace studied geology and geophysics before she decided she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds as much as she liked researching the real one. Her short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, F&SF, Asimov’s, Lightspeed Magazine, and Tor.com. Her first novel will be published by Katherine Tegen Books in 2016. She lives in southern California.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram  

blackdots
Blog Tour hosted by:

ffbc

 

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace {Review & Giveaway}

  1. Jennifer @ Donnie Darko Girl says:

    I had the very same thought about that first line and even mentioned it in my review, too! That first line was killer! (pun intended, lol) What a debut novel! And oh man, spin-offs of the human/non-humans she meets along the way is a TERRIFIC idea. I’d read all of them and definitely want more of Breezy, too.

    I read this before going to sleep and felt like I needed to keep one eye open, lol. I was super creeped out thinking about killers hiding among us in plain sight. Did the book make you feel a little creeped out, especially at night?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rhea says:

      Haahaha someone scares easy 😛 I had a little chill-down-the-spine moment with the old lady (you know who) but oh god the rest of the book I was just rooting for Breezy and wayyyy too busy falling in love with her to worry about killers come to kill me 🙂

      That first line is probably going down in history as one of the best openers ever!

      Liked by 1 person

What say you, mortal?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s